Candidate Information

On Monday, October 16, 2017, residents of the Town of Hinton will elect a Mayor and 6 Councillors. 

In alphabetical order (by surname), the following is the list of candidates for the offices of Mayor and Councillor.  

Mayoral Candidates:

  • Marcel Michaels
  • Benita Smit 
  • Stuart Taylor
Councillor Candidates:  
  • Trevor Haas
  • Don Harrison
  • Ryan Maguhn
  • Dewly Nelson
  • Albert Ostashek
  • JoAnn (Jo) Race
  • Alain Steinemann
  • Tyler Waugh

(Run) Be A Hero for your Community Print Ad 1
Changes to Legislation

The next Municipal Election will be held on October 16, 2017.  Commencing January 1, 2014, changes to the Local Authorities Election Act require all candidates intending to run in the next municipal election to register with the municipality prior to accepting campaign contributions.  If you intend to run as a candidate for municipal office in the 2017 Municipal Election, prior to accepting campaign contributions, please the following form:

Application for Registration of Notice of Intent to Become a Candidate for Municipal Office – Form 3A

And submit it to the Legislative & Executive Assistant at